top of page

Issue 4

Another week has passed here at SAM, and with it lots of new adventures and discoveries — starting with our trip to Pondicherry last Saturday. I traveled with Mukund (from SAM) and Steve Zerlin, the bass teacher. On the way we stopped for fresh coconut, and another delicious fruit of a palm tree — sort of nut called noongu (I think). They are like big lychees – almost transparent, and with an amazingly light taste. We also stopped at a stand selling sugar can juice mixed with lime and a little ginger – it was heaven! Such fun to watch him pressing out the juice. Steve is a huge fan of all of the great fruits of the area – he almost eats only fruits – a whole watermelon for lunch or a lot of mangoes. He’s really healthy!

04 juice.jpeg

We stopped in Auroville to see a luthier who has built Steve a beautiful new fretless bass with woods from Tamil Nadu. Auroville is a large communal city just north of Pondicherry that was started 1968 by a yoga teacher named Sri Aurobindo and his French wife known as the “Mother”. They accepted people of all beliefs, who come there to live communally and share work. They have made a lush area out of former desert land, it is now full of trees and bushes and plant life, with homes hidden among all of the lush vegetation. The bass maker made his own lovely place. There is a visitors center there with quite posh shops filled with many crafts and items made in Auroville, along with restaurants (organic food) and other meeting rooms, etc. But our first priority in Auroville was lunch – and we had pizza! Yes! A break form Indian food – with wood-fired pizza! Good! Mukund’s favorite! After shopping a little at the center, Mukund and I headed for Pondicherry — Steve decided to stay in Auroville, Pondicherry was settled by Frenchmen, and still has many French-speaking Indian people, and lovely French architecture. We saw a bit of the seaside area, where there are nice French buildings, it reminded me somewhat of Miami. We did some grocery shopping, and I also bought some Indian pants and a ready-to sew Indian outfit – for $8 - I’ll have it made by our local seamstress – I’m curious to see how that will turn out! We stopped by a temple in the middle of town where they bring an elephant every afternoon around 4:30 – and if you put a coin in his snout, he blesses you! Taps you on the head with his snout. He was wonderful! His deep eyes looked full of wisdom and compassion. I gave him some grass, too. It was really a special feeling to be blessed by an elephant! We then had some Baskin and Robbins ice cream and headed back to Auroville to get Steve – then back to the pizzeria for supper (I opted for the grilled chicken this time).We had a good day! On the way home we passed the bright lights of temples – they look more like amusement parks, with people out seeming to celebrate – we passed the same temple on Thursday night this week, and they had music and fireworks, it was a real party!

04 Temple at night.jpeg

Sunday I went solo with a taxi to Mahibalipuram – a seaside town with ancient temples dating back to the 700s! There were originally seven of them, but six have fallen into the sea – only one left. They have excavated some statues from the sea, which are now near the remaining temple. There are many other rock temples in this area as well – natural rocks that have been carved out to make temples or just with images of Gods on them.

04 Shore Temple.jpeg

In Mahibalipuram I also enjoyed a wonderful meal of huge tiger prawns! It was a big adventure for me, since it was the first time I went out alone. But the taxi driver was very kind, and stayed right in Mahabalipuram and waited for me until I was done sightseeing then drove me back to SAM. The taxi drivers charge a certain rate, and then stay with you the whole day – again – very humbling to see how little people get paid for their work. This week had some lovely surprises as well. On Wednesday I was invited to the home of our financial advisor, to eat his wife’s “dhosa” — a rice and lentil pancake that I ate with a delicious tomato and coconut chutney – it was great! I almost ate three of them, but couldn’t finish all of that third one – I was really full! She made another chutney of oil and Indian seed spices – very interesting – with crunchy tasty seeds. They also had wonderful fresh mangoes. This is mango season, and they taste SOOOO good! Selva and his wife gave me three different sizes to take home to eat – I have been enjoying them very much – tomorrow the third and largest is ready to eat – that will be my breakfast. Selva has a very nice family with a very nice wife and two beautiful daughters. They were very sweet. I am so lucky to be invited to their house. They said I was welcome anytime! Thursday night I was invited to go down to see a play in Auroville. So at 5 PM, Mukund, Steve, and I drove down through pouring rain to a theater where former SAM students acted and sang in a really interesting play about sexual identity. The lead actor was an excellent mime and fascinating to watch move. It was really fun to see something totally different – haven’t been to a theater show in a long while! It reminded me of some of the productions I was involved in in Holland. The musicians played and sang very well. Afterwards, a very nice meal at a beautiful hotel called Mango Hill – French food! And visiting the players at their home – they live in a communal home which houses actors and participants in workshops for acting located in one area of Auroville. This weekend I’ll be around SAM – maybe venture down to “Pondi” again with colleagues and students. So that was another fine week! I miss my Minnesota friends and the good (cooler!) weather there! Enjoy your June days.

04 bug cow.jpeg

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page